Monday, 7 July 2008

Yong Teck Lee is now talking

Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) President Datuk Seri Panglima Yong Teck Lee briefed party's leaders, members and supporters on Sunday in Kota Kinabalu on the latest development in the party.

Amongst others, Yong said what former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, while campaigning during the 1990 elections, in Labuan was no longer relevant after the March 8, 2008 general elections.

Yong said that Dr Mahathir at that time stated that Barisan Nasional (BN) did not require the support of Sabah and Sarawak (Members of Parliament) to form the Federal Government as BN has enough support back in Peninsula Malaysia.

"That was back in 1990, but today, if without Sabah and Sarawak, BN won't be the ruling government. If not because of Sabah and Sarawak, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is now the Opposition leader," the former Chief Minister said.

Yong also reminded the gathering that Sabah did not join but formed Malaysia in 1963.

"Sabah did not join Malaysia, we formed Malaysia. This is not something that proclaimed by me. This is clearly stated in the Federal Constitution and the Malaysia Agreement. We are not a branch of the Federal Government. Sabah is a partner to the Federation of Malaysia," he said.

Yong also took a swipe at the Federal leaderships `carrot-and-stick' tactic to attempt to subdue State leaders who dare to stand up against the Federal for mistreating Sabah and its people.

"First they give us (SAPP) a Senatorship and when it was turned down, they came up with the Special Envoy to BIMP-EAGA and when it was also turned down, they immediately sent the Anti-Corruption Agency," he said.

And when someone in the crowd shouted `and also ISA' Yong spontaneously responded by saying `we have permit for this talk, there is no worry for ISA.'

My Say:

The function yesterday was, in fact, part of the roadshow by SAPP and Yong to explain to supporters on the party's position in BN after openly declaring that their two MPs will support a motion of no confidence to the leadership of Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

No comments: