Friday, 22 February 2008

More surprises

UPKO, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) and Liberal Democratic Parti (LDP) are the last Barisan Nasional component parties to announce their candidates for the March 8 general elections.

Surprises were aplenty.

UPKO president Tan Sri Bernard Dompok decided to contest in Penampang (his hometown) replacing incumbent MP Donald Mojuntin who will be contesting the Moyog state seat replacing incumbent assemblyman Philip Lasimbang. Dompok's MP seat of Ranau will now be contested by ex-assemblyman Datuk Saringan Gubat.

Another of UPKO's surprise is the dropping of Datuk Wilfred Madius Tangau in place of ex-assemblyman Datuk Wilfred Mojilip Bumburing to defend the Tuaran MP seat.

Over in PBRS, its president Tan Sri Joseph Kurup dropped incumbent MP Datuk Bernard Maraat from defending the Pensiangan seat which will be contested by Kurup himself. Kurup said that Maraat was not a `team player' hence being dropped. Kurup seat of Sook will be contested by Datuk Alfred Elron Angin.

And in LDP, its president Datuk V K Liew dropped their Vice President and Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Liew Yun Fah from defending Merotai seat. All the LDP candidates are new with VK Liew himself contesting in Sandakan.

Yesterday, Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman also dropped 13 Umno incumbents from defending their seats. Among them are big names in Sabah politics - ex-Chief Minister Datuk Salleh Tun Said, ex-Minister Datuk Amir Kahar Tun Mustapha and ex-Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Tan Sri Pandikar Aman Mulia.

Another surprise is that Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president was not on the list of BN candidates.

My Say:

We just wait for the outcome of the elections to see whether all the changes would be justified.

No comments: