Saturday, 25 August 2007

Not much changes in SJA

The Sabah Journalists Association held its meeting today which saw Datuk Joniston Bangkuai's election as president uncontested for another term (2007-2008). He had been at the helm of the association since its inception in 1994. However, deputy president is a new man in Francis Fahir of RTM Sabah. Bangkuai is New Straits Times Sabah bureau chief, he took over from me when I was promoted to News Editor for Sabah and Sarawak in 2000. Since heading SJA, Bangkuai was only challenged once by Lichong Angkui then Berita Harian Sabah bureau chief. Angkui, who had since left Berita Harian, lost in the election. He is now editor of

At their meeting today, a motion was also unanimously passed to make Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman as a life member of the SJA. The patron is also the Chief Minister.

My Say:

SJA was born as a `house'for Sabah journalists when the Sabah Press Club was de-registered. I happened to be one of the Club's president. Eventhough it was de-registered during my term, the action by the Registrar of Society was due to non-compliance to requirement committed by a past president.


Rakan Wartawan said...

As fellow journalist and member of SJA, I sincerely hope all the irregularities in the association can be retified later on.

By the way, SJA is not the only 'house' for the journalists, there is another one called Kota Kinabalu Journalists Association (KKJA), many journalists in KK are holding double membership of SJA and KKJA.

JBingkasan said...


Irregularities in SJA?

For now SJA can not be said as a house for all Sabah journalists. Journalists in Keningau, Sandakan, Tawau and Labuan do have their own association. I am a founder member of KKJA. No double membership