Tuesday, 30 December 2008

Kurup continues to lead PBRS

Tan Sri Joseph Kurup, whose parliamentary seat of Pensiangan was declared vacant by Kota Kinabalu Election Court on Sep 8, 2008, was returned unopposed as Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) president at the party's election Tuesday.

The Federal Rural and Regional Development Deputy Minister has been at the helm of the party since its formation in 1994.

Also returned unopposed is incumbent Deputy President Datuk Ellron Angin while elected Vice-Presidents are former minister Datuk Kadoh Agundong, Baharuddin Haji Nayan and Cyril Yansalang.

The 264 delegates from the party 17 divisions also voted the supreme council members - Francis Yantim, Paiman Lalimbu, Dr Florentius Epin Banik, Justin Majiun, Weils Magium, Fatimah Ibrahim, Johari Bohontong, Alfian Tun Koroh, Taulani Haji Ismail, Jaiping Minsu and Jailin Lian.

Thanking the delegates for their faith in his leadership, Kurup told them:" The next three years will not be plain sailing but full of challenges. However, I will not be walking alone."

All eyes will be on the Federal Court who will decide on Jan 6, 2009 whether or not to grant Kurup's appeal against the Election Court's decision to declare his win unopposed in the March 8, 2008 general elections.

No comments: