Monday, 28 April 2008

YBs Sworn in Tuesday

The 60 Sabah assemblymen, 21 of whom are new faces, will be sworn in before Speaker Datuk Juhar Mahiruddin at the Sabah Legislative Assembly in Kota Kinabalu tomorrow.

Chief Minister and state Barisan Nasional chief, Datuk Seri Musa Aman, will be the first to take the oath of office followed by the 10 state ministers and18 assistant ministers.

They will be followed by the backbenchers and sole opposition member from the DAP, Jimmy Wong Sze Phin.

Wong, who won the Sri Tanjong seat in the March 8, general elections with a majority of 1,172, is the first assemblyman from the DAP in Sabah.

Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Ahmadshah Abdullah will open the first session of the assembly on Wednesday.

The House is scheduled to sit for three days from May 5 to 7.

A bill seeking to increase the number of assistant ministers from 14 to 18 will be tabled.

Datuk Frankie Chong Yu Chee of Sabah Progressive Party (Sapp) and Johnny Mositun of Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) have been appointed as deputy speakers, replacing Datuk Michael Tan Kun Boo of Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) and Datuk James Andrew Vitales of the PBS, whose term were not extended.

No comments: